Groundhog Day Book and Cookies

My 5-year old and I have been pulling out this humorous, but very informative, book about groundhogs around Groundhog Day since he was three. Groundhog Gets a Say by Pamela Curtis Swallow, provides all kinds of interesting facts about groundhogs that go beyond their one day in the limelight (or rather, sunlight). The story is told from the perspective of the Groundhog and his animal friends.

We haven’t done a book club meeting about this book–yet(!), but every year, my kids and I make these healthy no-bake groundhog cookies, so I decided I just had to share.

A few years ago, I saw adorable Groundhog Cookies on She Knows, but decided to try to make a version that was a little more nutritious for my (then) toddler. Instead, I used Frugal Farm Wife’s healthy no-bake cookie recipe. We don’t add the cocoa powder, but you definitely could and they’d look even a little more like dirt on the ground. (Ours look like the color of winter brown grass -ha!). After making the cookies, we refrigerate for just a few mins until they start to harden a little, but are still malleable. Then I take them back out of the refrigerator and poke a small hole in the middle. In the hole I place one Teddy-Graham and form the cookie back around the Teddy-Graham.  Then I sprinkle (no-sugar added) shredded coconut on top to look like snow. The Teddy-Grahams don’t look exactly like groundhogs, but close enough (especially to a toddler)!

There’s a lot going on in the world right now, so groundhogs really don’t seem worth all that much attention, but sometimes silliness with children is a welcome distraction. Enjoy. 🙂

img_3534-copy

 

 

Leave a Reply

